• DRIP FC NEWSLETTER
  • Posts
  • The Understated Elegance of Kellyn Acosta: Redefining Soccer Fashion with Subtle Sophistication

The Understated Elegance of Kellyn Acosta: Redefining Soccer Fashion with Subtle Sophistication

In the realm of soccer fashion, where individuality often takes a backseat to team uniforms, there emerges a select few who redefine the game with their impeccable style. Among them shines the bright star of Kellyn Acosta. Hailing from Plano, Texas, Kellyn Acosta is not only known for his prowess on the pitch, but he’s also known for his distinctive fashion sense that exudes confidence and sophistication.

Acosta’s style has an effortless charm that draws in elements of classic tailoring, causal chic, and he has found an effective way to add subtle accents to his fits. From understated accessories to carefully curated details, he knows how to elevate his looks with just the right amount of flair. His style is timeless, elegant, and he continues to bring fashion to the forefront of soccer.

Recently, we had the chance to check in with him and discuss his on & off pitch fashion.

What are your favorite fashion trends?

There are a few trends that I like currently, and it’s mostly tied to menswear. The necktie trend has been growing on me more and more, and I’m loving how people are styling them. The suit and sweats mix-match are playful, and I love how you can dress it up and down. I especially love a good boot that can be worn with denim or even a tailored set.

Favorite boots of all time?

Favorite boots of all time are the CTR 360’s.

How would you describe your on & off pitch style?

I’d say my on and off pitch style is very versatile. I feel like I change up how I present myself every day, and I like to switch up the flow by dressing up and down for any occasion.

Photo Credit: LAFC & Kellyn Acosta

What has been your favorite pre-match fit that you have worn?

There’s honestly so many that I love but I’d have to say what I wore last year: Off White letterman jacket, complimented by a tie and shirt, Loewe pants, Prada chunky shoes, and to top it off (literally) Gucci blue beret.

When it comes to fashion, what is some advice you'd give to a young footballer who is trying to be more stylish?

When it comes to fashion, I always preach that you should wear the clothes and not have the clothes wear you. It’s important to be true to yourself and wear something that you’re comfortable in.

What is one item of clothing you can't live without?

I’m big into time pieces and I’m slowly building up my collection again.

Photo Credit: Soccer Bible

What was it like collaborating with the Surgeon Collective on your signature boots?

Honestly, it was wild. Just to have the opportunity to speak with Dom and then later doing a shoe was a dream. As a kid, I spent countless hours online customizing shoes that I thought were so cool but never had the ability to see them come to life. Fast forward to now, I got the chance to work with the best in the game and make it a reality. Definitely a super special moment.

Who is the Fashion X Football G.O.A.T

First person that comes to mind is David Beckham. There’s more now that are coming into their own, but Becks was the trendsetter.