Tricky Vicky Returns: Charlotte’s Fashion Forward Football Star

When Vicky Bruce heard about professional women’s soccer coming to her hometown of Charlotte, North Carolina, she was all in. After spending 7 years in 8 different countries experiencing the true lifestyle of a footballer, she knew it was time to come home. It was a return to the beginning. It was a chance to play professionally in the place where she first fell in love with the game.

From local youth clubs to UNC, Davidson, US Youth National Teams, and multiple professional clubs (most recently the Western Sydney Wanderers), the local talent is back with a winning resume. That winning resume includes the 2023 FA Women’s Championship. As a player, Bruce aims to create an electric atmosphere for women’s soccer in Charlotte. The USL, a Super League dripping with potential, is on the rise and looking to elevate the women’s game to new heights.

Taking bits and pieces of fashion, playing style, and culture from each country that she has explored, Vicky Bruce - also known as Tricky Vicky - has brought a unique blend of influences to Carolina Ascent FC as their first signee. Her style on & off the pitch combined with an impactful presence will boost the new team's performance, inspiring a new wave of soccer fans.

How would you describe your off-pitch drip?

Swaggy, comfy, casual – heavily Nike based.

As a player that has played in multiple countries, which country had the best all-around style?

Every country had their own unique style. I loved bits & pieces from each one. Overall, I was drawn to Australia’s fashion choices. The great weather allowed for outfits I would never think to put together, and they always looked effortlessly good. In Denmark, I liked the long white button-down shirts paired with sweaters. During my time in England, I fell in love with the cargo pants trend. I definitely adopted that look.

Walk us through being the first signee for the Carolina Ascent FC (Charlotte’s first professional women’s soccer team)?

OUT OF THIS WORLD. It’s something I’ve always envisioned and pictured as a kid, but I never thought that it could actually happen. When I was 7 to 8 years old, I was in school down the road telling my parents I want to play professional soccer and there wasn’t even a successful women’s league yet. My parents always supported me, & they told me to always follow my dreams. They realized from an early age that I wanted this sport to be my life. Now, it has truly come full circle. I’ve sacrificed a lot to be where I am today playing in so many countries, being away from family and friends, and not even having access to a car or my favorite restaurants/meals. To be back where it all started is surreal. It’s nice to be home.

Favorite Charlotte Restaurant?

Brooklyn South, Italian.

You’ve been known for wearing adidas boots. If you could wear only one adidas boot (silo) for the rest of your life, what would you choose?

Predator Elite Laceless FG Boots. I used to wear the Adidas F50 because you could change out the studs, but I switched when they brought back the old school strap Predators from my childhood that have now evolved to laceless Predators. I’ve always worn adidas because my feet are wide. They fit the best. I prefer to have 2-3 pairs at once in either black or white with metal studs and normal ones.

How would you say your style has changed over the years?

I’m in my comfy era, filled with athleisure clothes. Perfect comfort? A big baggy tee. Hot outside? Tank top & shorts. I go for the neutrals black, white, & grey. I love a monochromatic moment or a groutfit. My sneakers have to match my outfit. Everything needs to match. I will buy the same basic Nike T-Shirt, Hoodie, Dunks, & Air Forces in every colorway.

What is your favorite kit of all time?

Old school David Beckham at Manchester United. The Retro Long Sleeve Home Jersey from 98/99. National team wise, Nigeria always has a real fire kit. It makes me want to support them, because they are always so consistently dope. I love the old school looks, particularly the 94’ USWNT jerseys with the collars. A vibe.

From a fashion standpoint, what player has the best style?

Kristie Mewis always has on a really good fit. She looks great at all times. NWSL players are currently killing it with the game day fits.

If you could partner with any brand to create your own personal clothing line, what brand would you choose?

Nike. They have such a variety of items that I could style any outfit head to toe.

Who would you consider to be the Soccer X Fashion GOAT?

Jack Grealish from England.

What is your favorite current fashion trend?

Fanny Packs & Cargo Pants. Going out, being active, having a good time – I can always carry the essentials. Portable charger, chapstick, keys…You name it, I have it!

Must have accessories for training and match days?

I am very superstitious. I wear the same bra, and the same sliders every game. I’ve been wearing a bubble braid with 5 bubbles in it for my hair. Let’s say something bad happens like a red card, I’ll then do 4 or 6 bubbles until the good comes back around. Pregame, I am very specific. A plain meal consisting of chicken nuggets with ketchup and plain pasta/bread with butter, 3 ½ hours before I play. The night before, I have a rehydration drink, then a baked good or dessert. On game days, I take pre-workout to ensure I’m hyped up; it gives that extra little edge.

What are you looking forward to about the upcoming season?

I’m hoping Carolina Ascent FC breaks records. Our team specifically could get very big crowds. I want us to get a lot of fans out. This is such a soccer hub with a lot of young girls playing. For them to be able to see us and know that they can get here one day is the goal. Our management group is running the team the right way, and they’re doing a great job listening to the players. The talent coming in has unlimited potential. I’m excited about the overall hype of the Super League. I really want it to succeed.

How would you say the women’s game has evolved through your playing years?

Personally, I’ve changed positions a lot. I’ve gone from being a goal scoring forward growing up, to a central midfielder, and now a center back for the past 4 years professionally. My career has been an evolution in & of itself. The advancements have been really great. The game has changed so much. Overall, I would say women are really good from a technical, aggressive, physical, and tactical level – the whole package. At the end of the day, it’s always stayed fun.

Top Traits?

Vision, 1v1 defending, winning aerial battles

Views on Center Back?

I love it. It requires a lot off the ball, & I can never turn off.

Best women’s player to follow?

María Leon (FC Barcelona’s Center Back)

How have you stayed inspired?

I’ve always been in love with the game. There’s no other way to describe it. My genuine obsession with soccer has been with me since I was a kid. When I was younger, I told my parents this is all I wanted to do. My vision had always been set on becoming a professional. Watching the game makes me a better player. I love immersing myself in it, and I enjoy supporting people I know personally or have played against. The field is my best friend, & I love going to get touches on the ball with no one around. The more I train, the more I fall in love with the game.

Having gone through 3 knee surgeries, I know what it’s like to have soccer taken away for an extended period of time. This makes me appreciate it more. I’m self-aware and can sense when I need a break, so I’ll go shoot hoops, play tennis, or do other activities. After a day or two, I miss the game again. I never want it to get to the point where I resent it or burnout. I’ll never have the words to explain how much I love it or why. It’s a feeling, an energy.