• DRIP FC NEWSLETTER
  • Posts
  • Less is More: The Effortless Style of Rayadas’ Christina Burkenroad

Less is More: The Effortless Style of Rayadas’ Christina Burkenroad

In a world where flair often steals the spotlight, Christina Burkenroad stands out with her refreshingly minimalistic approach to both fashion and football. Embracing the mantra “less is more,” the forward has crafted a lifestyle that reflects an authentic confidence, both on and off the pitch. The Southern California native embodies a style of play that mirrors her fashion sense: simple, effective, and impactful.

Immersed in Mexican-American culture, Burkenroads’ surroundings have influenced her identity as a professional, allowing her to truly tap into who she is. Life is a story, and living is an art – she embodies this by using fashion to tell her story – that less is always more. Every piece she wears reflects her journey, showcasing that there is always more than what meets the eye.

Back in Mexico, playing for C.F. Monterrey (Las Rayadas), here is Christina Burkenroad.

What does “Drip” mean to you?

“Drip” is about how you carry yourself and show your individual style, reflecting the confidence with which you present yourself.

How would you describe your style?

Very chill and minimal, blending elements of soccer and beach culture. I prefer neutral colors but love to add a bit of flair with either colored shoes or a necklace to make everything pop.

What is your favorite current fashion trend?

Jerseys. Jerseys are so in right now and I am ALL FOR IT.

What was it like signing to “Adidas” as an athlete?

Signing with Adidas as an athlete was a dream come true. Every professional athlete waits for the day that a major brand asks for them to represent them, so when Adidas reached out to me, I was beyond grateful. I love their stuff and I couldn’t imagine myself wearing anything else. I love how adidas is really tapping onto the retro style, which is incredibly trendy right now. Being part of a brand that aligns so well with my personal style feels great.

Who would you put in your Mount Rushmore of soccer players with elite fashion style?

Phil Foden & Jack Grealish

Wearing socks with sandals…

What is the most iconic kit of all time?

Brazil 1998 R9 Home Jersey

How do you feel about the blokecore fashion trend? And do you think soccer jerseys will be incorporated in more modern-day fashion?

I love it. Jerseys have been incorporated a lot into modern fashion, especially thanks to designers like Virgil and KidSuper who are integrating blokecore into everyday wear. People have found ways to dress up jerseys in a casual sense and it is awesome! To me, a jersey is an all-encompassing piece that tells a unique story. They represent different cultures, memories, or admired people.

How do you express your individuality on the field?

Definitely through a minimalistic playing style. As a forward who plays the 9, my goal is to simply make everyone around me better. I value assisting and being part of the goal-scoring play just as much as scoring the goal myself. My approach is simple: one or two touches, maximum three, and then let the ball go. For me, less is more, always.

Player with the most personal flair, on & off the pitch?

FC Barcelona's Alexia Putellas! She rocks old-school Barcelona shirts really well, it’s obvious that she is proud to play for her club.

What do you want your off-pitch style to say about you?

That less is more. I aim for an effortlessly chill look, mixing a relaxed beach vibe with elements of soccer culture. My style is about appearing effortlessly put-together without trying too hard, conveying an authentic feel.

How has fashion influenced this current generation of footballers?

Fashion has given players more of an identity and a true means to express that. It’s no longer just about showing up and playing. Now players are considering how they present themselves. Who do they want to be? What vibe do they project? What energy is being conveyed before the game? Fashion seamlessly blends with confidence; it shapes how you carry yourself on and off the pitch. How you present yourself before a game sets the tone for how you are ultimately going to walk onto the field.

If you could build the drippiest player using these attributes: cleats, hairstyles & sock-style, what player would you choose for each?

Cleats: Ronaldo - Black Nike Mercurial Vapor

Hairstyle: Neymar - Bleached Tips

Sock-Style: Neymar - High Socks w/a little skin showing

Who is the Fashion X Football G.O.A.T?

Neymar. At Barcelona. Iconic.

Must have accessories for training and match days, pre-game rituals?

My must-haves are wrist tape (only on the left), my cool boot bag, and a couple of stacked necklaces. I keep it super minimal.

How would you say the women’s game has evolved through your playing years?

The game has evolved so much, it feels like it’s part of a world movement right now. All eyes are on women’s soccer and the growing number of investors who have joined. The surge of interest has created so many opportunities, not only for female athletes, but also for men and women in various roles supporting the women’s game. The opportunities to cover women’s soccer are rapidly growing. The significant financial investments being made and unwavering support from fans has been insane. This is an incredibly exciting time to be involved, with the world’s attention focused on the women’s game like never before.

Favorite boot?

Adidas F50

How has playing professionally in other countries influenced you on & off the pitch?

One of the best decisions I’ve ever made was to go super far and play. It has been incredibly impactful to experience European soccer culture. The moment I landed in Europe, I realized that my fashion sense was not up to the level of everyone else. The experience really opened my eyes to different playing styles, cultures, and ways of life. Immersing myself in a new environment was great for my personal growth. Living in a different place allowed me to grow as a human being and this growth directly translated into my maturity and development on the pitch.