Own Your Flair: Staying True to Yourself with Taylor Suarez

Replicating a young women’s version of Neymar, Taylor Suarez excels in 1v1 battles on the pitch, creating excitement with her skillful tricks, and she shines with her relentless mentality.

There is a simple reason as to why she is already thriving in life before officially playing in her first collegiate game at reigning national champion, Florida State in August. Graduating high school early allowed her to join FSU this past spring, yet she is eager to step foot on the big stage. The reason behind her success? Playing soccer because it’s her first love and it’s fun.

Signing with NIKE back in April was earned, not given. In 2 years of playing high school soccer at Ardrey Kell, she was awarded Gatorade North Carolina Player of the Year 2x. As well as being a mainstay on the United States Youth National Teams since U-17, Taylor is reaping the rewards of her dedication to her craft. Living by the motto look good, play good, she is now fully dripped out in NIKE head-to-toe, looking great, playing better. Committed to upleveling her style, putting together a fire fit is now essential. Unwavering in her foundation, Taylor Suarez is committed to always staying true to herself as a little girl, while mentoring the next generation of girls who are dreaming big. She has only begun to unlock the true entertainment of linking together footy, style and culture.

Her future? Limitless.

What does ‘drip’ mean to you?

Good style or wearing a cool outfit. A cool pair of shoes on? That means dripped out.

What was it like signing to ‘NIKE’ as an athlete?

It was amazing. It was incredible, and I am super grateful for the opportunity. To think that growing up I always wore Nike clothes or Nike shoes and now I am able to call myself a Nike Athlete is really incredible.

How do you express your individuality on the pitch?

The main thing about my game is that I LOVE to go 1v1. I like to drive at players, showing off tricks or skills. Going 1v1 and beating players is a big aspect of my game. Go-To Move: A little hesitation with a scissor.

With you being signed to ‘NIKE,’ what would you say your favorite NIKE cleats are?

I usually wear the Nike Premier III’, but recently I have been into the Nike Tiempo.

Low or high socks? With or without grip socks?

High socks. I have recently added grip socks, because I like how they feel with my cleats.

How has your style changed over the years?

As I have gotten older, being able to buy my own clothes and shoes has allowed me to put more effort into my style with the fits I put together. I care more now about what I am wearing and how I put a fit together.

What is your favorite USWNT kit of all time?

2019, all red away kit. I think that was their cleanest kit. Plus, they won the World Cup that year.

Who inspires you the most in the women’s game?

Sophia Smith. An incredible player and person on and off the field. She is someone that I aspire to be like, along with the level that I want to get to one day.

How would you describe your style off the pitch?

In general, I wear athleisure, particularly brands like Nike. I love to have a comfortable fit on, but it also looks good. Neutral colors, plus a little bit more flair with the shoes.

How do you think fashion will impact this next generation of soccer players?

I think it’s really cool how more and more people are increasing their effort into their styles with matchday fits. Fashion is a great addition to the game. I’m glad we’re taking the time and effort to look good before the big game. Look good, play good.

Player with the most personal flair, on & off the pitch?

Trinity Rodman. Hands down.

What is the most unexpected piece of advice that has helped your game?

When one of my coaches pulled me aside and said that before every game when I am walking to my spot on the field, look at the outside back or defender that is going to be on me that game. Then, mentally give myself the confidence boost of, “I am going to beat you. I am going to drive at you every single time I get this ball.” As a winger, I love to go 1v1. Giving myself a positive self-talk is key for success.

How do you stay grounded amid the pressures of a professional environment?

The most important thing is to remember why I play soccer. I started playing when I was 4 years old because it was fun. I loved it. It is no different from then to now. I play soccer because I love it, and I have so much fun playing it. Even though there are other factors involved now, the main reason I step on the field every single day is because I wholeheartedly love it and I enjoy it.

Favorite soccer memory?

Walking out for the opening game at the U-17 Women’s World Cup. I cannot even begin to explain it, I had goosebumps and chills everywhere. I remember holding one of the little girls' hands that we were walking out with, looking up and just seeing the huge crowd with everyone jumping up and down. It was surreal. I can’t even describe it.

What are you looking forward to most about the fall season at Florida State?

I am super excited to step into the college environment. I grew up watching college soccer and have always dreamed of playing on that stage. So, I am excited to finally be playing on that stage myself. The competitive level at FSU is unreal. I am mostly looking forward to competing for a national championship with my teammates.

Pregame rituals?

Too many... My motto: Look Good, Play Good. I always wear mascara, black pre-wrap & tuck two strands of hair under the pre-wrap in the front. I tape my wrist, my right ring finger and my right pinky. I listen to the same hype song before I walk out: “N***** In Paris” by Jay-Z & Kayne West.

*Being of Puerto Rican and Portuguese heritage, Taylor tapes her ring finger to symbolize a ring from her grandmother who lives in Portugal. The notion is to remind herself that she’s playing for her.

Most rewarding part of your soccer career so far?

Last summer. A couple of parents began reaching out to me about training their little girls. The word spread, and I am running two soccer camps this summer. Since then, I have had the privilege to be a mentor for young girls and a role model. These little girls all text me to ask for help, or their parents call me to ask questions. Being able to be that person for them has been incredibly rewarding. I used to be in their shoes, looking up to somebody. Knowing that I can provide that for them now is amazing – letting them know that their dreams can come true has been the most fulfilling aspect.

Advice for rising ballers?

The most important piece of advice I could give is to be you. Don’t let what other people say about you change what you are doing. Everyone is unique. Everyone has their own special qualities, and everyone is different. On & off the pitch you must stay true to yourself, or you won’t get as far as you want to. It’s the players that always stay true to who they are and don’t let outside nonsense affect them. People are going to say good things, people are going to say bad things. At the end of the day, all that matters is what you want to do deep down and what you are personally trying to accomplish.

If you could hang out with three legends, past or present, who would they be and why?

First, it has to be Neymar. I try to replicate him on the field with some of the things he does. That’s how I love to play in general. I always used to watch him play, and I still watch his games and highlights on YouTube. Second, Sophia Smith. She inspires me, and I would love to be able to meet her. Three, the GOAT Messi. I would like to just sit down and have a conversation with him about how he has kept so straight through the years despite what people say. He has done his way always, never wavering.